AHCSC Grand Finale Fixed for June 29, 2023: The 2nd (2022/23) Edition of the Anambra “ArOY Health Campaign Schools Challenge (AHCSC)”

AHCSC Grand Finale Fixed for June 29, 2023: The 2nd (2022/23) Edition of the Anambra “ArOY Health Campaign Schools Challenge (AHCSC)”

Sharing is caring!

The OCI Foundation is pleased to announce that the Grande Finale of the 2ND (2022/2023) EDITION of its “Anambra ArOY Health Campaign Schools Challenge (a.k.a. Anambra AHCSC)” has now been fixed to hold from 10am on Thursday, June the 29th, 2023, at the Igwebuike Grammar School, Awka, Anambra State, Nigeria.

Event Banner...

The Anambra AHCSC is being staged in conjunction with the State’s Post Primary Schools Service Commission (PPSSC). The competition is designed to enhance engagements with the OCI Foundation’s “Arm Our Youths (ArOY) Health Campaign”, which, in September 2019, introduced anti-breast and anti-cervical cancer teachings into the curriculum of all public senior secondary schools in Anambra State.

It should be recalled that a total of FIVE Student-finalists have already emerged following the Semi-Finals of January 12, 2023. Those finalists were drawn from the 12 that won the zonal contests across the SIX Educational Zones of Anambra State (two from each Zone).

‘The zonal contests were completed in late 2022, with Onitsha and Otuocha zones holding theirs on  November 3 and 17, 2022, while  Awka, Ogidi, Aguata, and Nnewi zones had their own competitions on October 11th, 13th, 20th and 25th, respectively.

The 5 Finalists, with the OCI Foundation Team (12/01/2023).

The Finalists and their schools:

  1. Nnakenyi, Chisom: Maria Regina Model Comprehensive Secondary School, Nnewi
  2. Nwizugbe, Mmesoma: St John Bosco Secondary School, Unubi
  3. Ossai, Miracle: Community High School, Nsugbe
  4. Okoye, Chidimma: Queen of the Rosary College, Onitsha
  5. Elochukwu, Chisimdi: Queen of the Rosary College, Onitsha.

The 12 Semi-finalists, With Organisers from the OCI Foundation (12/01/2023)

The other 7 that made the semi finals, and their schools:

  1. Mbah, Rita: Capital City Sec School, Awka
  2. Onuike, Chioma: Community Secondary School, Umuokpu, Awka
  3. Ugwuowo, Chikwado: Community Secondary School, Akpo
  4. Ezeaku, Chioma: St Monica’s College, Ogbunike
  5. Okafor, Mmesoma Gloria: Girls’ Secondary School, Igboukwu
  6. Anekwe, Precious: Justice Chinwuba Memorial Secondary School Aguleri
  7. Onubi, Blessing: Anglican Girls’ Secondary School, Oba

This event is scheduled by default to hold on February 4th of every year, as part of events marking the annual Global World Cancer Day. This year’s delay was due to the uncertainties arising from the unavailability of the Nigerian currency at the time, along with a scarcity of petrol across Nigeria, making it highly possible that the participating finalists to the competition, as well as their teachers, our staff, the media, and our esteemed guests, might miss the event, as movements and other logistics could not be properly put in place.

Banner, With Original Dates for the Zonal Contests

1 Comment
  • User Avatar
    Mnorom Simon Terzulum
    Posted at 16:50h, 05 February Reply

    Job well done, keep it up

Post A Comment


Enquire Now

Fill out the form below and we will get back to you as soon as we can.