FAQs for the 2020 OCI Foundation’s “Literary Award for Medical Students (LAMS)”

Sharing is caring!


Q: What is the LAMS Initiative?  Who are the sponsors? 

A: The Literary Award for Medical Students (LAMS) is an initiative sponsored by the OCI Foundation for students within the South-East region who show literary dexterity, and is designed to identify, inspire and reward them.
The OCI (Onyebuchi Chris Ifediora) Foundation is an international, non-profit, charity organisation established with the aim of breaking down barriers to the attainment of excellence among Nigerians through Education, Health and Empowerment/Charity Activities. It was founded by an alumnus of the region, Dr Chris Ifediora, who, in his time, served as the Secretary Generals of  both the Nnamdi Azikiwe University Medical Student’s Association (NAUMSA) and that of the Federation of African Medical students’ Associations (FAMSA). His experiences in those roles, as well as his current attainments as a practising physician, have convinced him that literary skills among doctors can unlock huge potentials that significantly complements medical practice, and the LAMS Initiative is his way of inspiring upcoming doctors in this regard.
The 2020 contest, which commenced in late August 2020, is the maiden edition.

Q: Who is Eligible?

A: The competition is currently open to all the EIGHT Medical Students Associations (MSAs) within the South-East Zone of the Nigerian Medical Student Association (NiMSA), and any medical student enrolled with any of these MSAs is eligible. These MSAs include:
  1. ABSUMSA: Abia State University Medical Students Association
  2. AEFUMSA: Alex Ekwueme Federal University Medical Students Association
  3. COOUMSA: Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University Medical Students Association
  4. EBSUMSA: Ebonyi State University Medical Students Association
  5. ESUMSA: Enugu State University Medical Students Association
  6. IMSUMSA: Imo State University Medical Students Association
  7. NAUMSA: Nnamdi Azikiwe University Medical Students Association
  8. UNMSA: University of Nigeria Medical Students Association
With time, the OCI Foundation will consider extending the LAMS Initiative to all the remaining FIVE MSA zones across Nigeria.

Q: When is the deadline? 

A: Organizers of the LAMS Initiative will hold annual contests, at dates to be decided by the leadership of the MSAs involved. For the Maiden (2020) Edition, the deadline for submission of essays is 11:59pm, 10th of September, 2020.

Q: What is the word count?

A: The submitted essay should be between 800-1000 words only.

Q: How can a submission be made?

A: Completed essays should be submitted to this email address: [email protected]

Q: How will the essays be judged?

A: An impartial panel of judges made up of students drawn equally from each of the MSAs within the Zone will be set up annually. They will be in charge of selecting the best entries. This set up minimizes bias, and entrenches fair play.

Q: What are the judges looking out for? 

A: The judges would be looking out for:
✓ Relevance to the theme
✓ Grammar
✓ Spelling

Q: What do participants win?

A: The annual take-home prizes include:
  1. Winner: NGN 20,000 PLUS a special feature on the region’s social media platforms
  2. First runner-up: NGN 15,000.00
  3. Second runner-up: NGN 10,000.00

Enquire Now

Fill out the form below and we will get back to you as soon as we can.

    Skip to toolbar